Cricket BallThe Cricket Premier League delivers all the information you need to bet effectively and profitably on the competition that is taking the cricket world by storm. The pages here will introduce you to the Indian Premier League, commonly abbreviated as the IPL, and the teams involved. We will also tell you about the kind of bets you can place and advise you on how to increase your chances of picking winners. We will even tell you where you will find the best cricket betting markets.

If you are new to the Indian Premier League then allow us to explain in a nutshell what it’s all about. The Indian Premier League is a Twenty20 cricket tournament launched in April 2008 and should not be confused with the Champions Twenty20 tournament. The league was created by the BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) and has been sanctioned by the ICC (International Cricket Council). What makes the Indian Premier League so unique is the fact that players all over the globe are bought and sold like soccer players in the Premier League in England, rather than automatically playing for their home nation.

The IPL, which started on 18 April, 2008, plays 59 games over 44 days. The Indian Premier League winners of 2008 (the Rajasthan Royals) took home US$2 million, and a further US$3 million was distributed in the form of secondary prizes. See the team pages for details of individual results or visit our 2008 Results page for an overview of the whole tournament.

Apart from the vast amounts of money that players can win, the IPL presents cricket bettors with many opportunities to make a profit of their own. Click on the Cricket Betting tab for a full discussion of the ones likely to be of most interest.

Visitors in the UK may also be interested in reading about the possibility of an English Premier League being introduced in the future. If so, simply visit our EPL page and keep an eye on the Twenty20 for 20 competition by Sir Allen Stanford

We have left no stone unturned in our task of bringing you the best IPL betting information you can get your hands on, so we hope you enjoy your stay and that you have the very best of luck with your cricket betting.

Latest Cricket Betting Promotions - July 31, 2014

Ladbrokes sports

England win to level India series

England wrap up a 266-run victory over India in the third Test at Southampton to level the series at 1-1.
Thu, 31 Jul 2014 12:16:44 GMT

Cook relieved by England victory

Captain Alastair Cook is pleased that England's win in the third Test against India has ended a bad run of form.
Thu, 31 Jul 2014 14:39:16 GMT

England's 'complete performance' rewarded

BBC cricket correspondent Jonathan Agnew reflects on how almost everything went to plan for England in the third Test.
Thu, 31 Jul 2014 16:38:00 GMT

India's Ishant to miss fourth Test

Ishant Sharma will not be fit to play for India against England in next week's fourth Test at Old Trafford.
Thu, 31 Jul 2014 14:25:38 GMT

Durham win despite Trott century

Paul Collingwood leads Durham to victory over Warwickshire, despite a century from ex-England team-mate Jonathan Trott.
Thu, 31 Jul 2014 16:52:09 GMT