Cricket BallIPL stands for Indian Premier League, a Twenty20 cricket tournament launched in April 2008. The IPL consists of eight franchises, each of which is responsible for managing a single cricket team: Chennai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Bangalore, Jaipur, Kolkata, Mumbai and Mohali. These franchises were purchased by auction in January 2008 for an overall total of more than US$723 million. Then, in February 2008, an auction of some of the world’s best players was held, and headline news was made when India’s one-day cricket captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was bought by Chennai for US$1.5 million – a figure almost four times larger than his US$400,000 base price.

Starting on 18 April, 2008, the league plays 59 games over 44 days. The Indian Premier League winners will take home US$2 million, and a further US$3 million will be distributed in the form of secondary prizes.

Some cricket commentators have suggested that the creation of the Indian Premier League will be as revolutionary for the sport as the creation of the World Series Cricket competition in 1977. Whilst the majority of experts refute this, there is no doubt that the IPL is already proving to be a big hit with both players and fans. As if to confirm this, Sony Television led a consortium that secured television media rights to the competition for ten years at a cost of more than US$1 billion.

As well as providing cricket fans entertained, the Indian Premier League has created a host of new opportunities for those who enjoy betting on the sport, and a discussion of the main ones likely to be of interest can be found on our Cricket Betting page. Whether betting on the Indian Premier League becomes as popular as betting on English Premier League football remains to be seen, but the potential for that kind of success is certainly there.

Latest Cricket Betting - November 18, 2018

Ladbrokes sports